The Seven Stones

more rules ?'s

Just want to make sure I’m not doing any “fuzzy cooler math” and if you know official rulings on:

1) For rogues like you & me, Uncanny Dodge essentially means that our flat-footed AC is the same as our normal AC, correct?

The SRD says: Uncanny Dodge (Ex): Starting at 4th level, a rogue can react to danger before her senses would normally allow her to do so. She retains her Dexterity bonus to AC (if any) even if she is caught flat-footed or struck by an invisible attacker. However, she still loses her Dexterity bonus to AC if immobilized.

If a rogue already has uncanny dodge from a different class she automatically gains improved uncanny dodge (see below) instead.

So it would seem that we’re never caught flat-footed (sweeter than I thought). But yes, you’re correct.

2) With the Dodge feat, “any condition that makes you lose your Dexterity Bonus to Armor Class (if any) also makes you lose dodge bonuses. But Uncanny Dodge means you keep your Dex sooo would you be able to Dodge if caught Flat-footed?

The SRD says:

Benefit: During your action, you designate an opponent and receive a +1 dodge bonus to Armor Class against attacks from that opponent. You can select a new opponent on any action.

A condition that makes you lose your Dexterity bonus to Armor Class (if any) also makes you lose dodge bonuses. Also, dodge bonuses stack with each other, unlike most other types of bonuses.

The operative words are: “During your action” which means that it only happens as soon as you act. If an enemy attacks before you do, you are still granted your dexterity bonus, but you haven’t had time to fully assess the situation in order to get full use of the dodge feat. Also take note of “you designate an opponent” which means you need to declare ONE opponent per round that you will be actively dodging.

3) Does Fighting Defensively count towards Touch AC? Its a Dodge Bonus so this essentially is the same question as #2; I have something that lets me keep my dex, does that also lets me keep all the dodge bonuses that would otherwise be lost without said dex? The SRD says:

Fighting Defensively as a Standard Action: You can choose to fight defensively when attacking. If you do so, you take a –4 penalty on all attacks in a round to gain a +2 dodge bonus to AC for the same round.

You need to declare it on your action. If you have not attacked yet you cannot receive the benefits of this action. Also take note that if you stop attacking (check on a dying friend, use a potion, ready an action, etc.) you lose the benefits of this action. Fighting Defensively would indeed count towards your Touch AC, but only AFTER you have declared and attacked.

Think of the Dodge feat and the Defensive Fighting action as “action dependent” bonuses. You only get them based on particular actions you take. If you haven’t taken an action then you don’t get the benefits (or penalties) of that action.

4) multi-class BAB is the BAB of the one class + the BAB of the other class right?

Yes. If Timault is a 4th level rogue, 4th level fighter he has a BAB of +7 (+3 for the rogue levels plus +4 for the fighter levels).

Your welcome,

Matt

Comments

MythicParty

I'm sorry, but we no longer support this web browser. Please upgrade your browser or install Chrome or Firefox to enjoy the full functionality of this site.